2 more legislators switch to GOP – 28 Dems so far in 2 years

Two more elected Democratic legislators have switched to the Mississippi Republican Party: Russ Nowell (District 43: Kemper, Noxubee, Winston) and Margaret Rogers (District 14: Pontotoc, Union) switched at a press conference with Governor Haley Barbour at the Mississippi Republican Party today.

Y’all Politics calls the Democratic Party “The incredible shrinking caucus.”

But this loss by the Mississippi Democratic Party goes beyond the legislature.  Add to these two switches today the Lee County District Two Justice Court Judge John Sheffield and Winston County Sheriff Randy Thomas (according to the list at Majority in Mississippi) and we’re up to 28 Democratic elected officials in Mississippi who have switched to the Republican Party since the innauguration of President Barack Obama.

Explore posts in the same categories: Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: