Right of Mississippi 2011 Republican Primary Predictions

It’s that time again, go for it, leave your own predictions but here are the official ROM predictions

GOVERNOR: BRYANT 55%

LT. GOVERNOR: REEVES 52%

SOS: HOSEMANN 70%

TREASURER: RUNOFF SMITH & FITCH 35 and 35

AG COMMISSIONER: PHILLIPS 51%

TRANSPORTATION COMMISSIONER: HALL 60%

-ROM

Explore posts in the same categories: Blogs, Campaigns, Cindy Hyde Smith, Commissioner of Agriculture, Dannie Reed, Delbert Hosemann, Governor, Lee Yancey, Lieutenant Governor, Lucien Smith, Lynn Fitch, Max Phillips, Mississippi 2011, Mississippi Elections 2011, Mississippi Secretary of State, Mississippi State Treasurer, Republicans, Ricky Dombrowski

14 Comments on “Right of Mississippi 2011 Republican Primary Predictions”

  1. iFarm2 Says:

    GOVERNOR: BRYANT

    LT. GOVERNOR: REEVES

    SOS: HOSEMANN

    TREASURER: RUNOFF SMITH & Yancey

    AG COMMISSIONER: PHILLIPS

    TRANSPORTATION COMMISSIONER: HALL

  2. William Terry Harpole Says:

    I hope Max Phillips does win on the 1st day

  3. John Killian Says:

    Governor Bryant 57%
    Lt Governor Reeves 58%
    Secretary of State Hoseman 79%
    Treasurer: Fitch 35% and Yancey 33% (in a surprise)
    Agriculture Phillips 51%

  4. rightofmississippi Says:

    You may be right John, we are least confident about the Treasurers race.

  5. John Killian Says:

    My reasoning is that Yancey a) comes from a high- GOP primary voting area b) has the support of social conservatives who will register in this race and c) has good ads.
    Fitch makes a great appearance, speaks well, and has momentum coming into this day–not to mention the tendency of females to vote females.
    Smith has had money, but the other two have begun to catch up with his money.
    All three are good folks. Personally, I am for Yancey with Fitch as my second choice—but they are all fine.
    I wonder if my prediction for Max Phillips is wishful thinking—but I stick with my prediction hoping ol’ Max can pull it off. A runoff is really possible in that race

  6. Bobbye Cooley Says:

    I REALLY BELIEVE PHILLIPS IS THE MAN (FOR A MAN’S JOB)

    AG COMMISSIONER. I HAVE KNOWN MAX ALL HIS LIFE & I

    HAVE FAITH THAT HE WILL WIN.

  7. RiletDad Says:

    * The following are predictions, they in no way indicate who I WANT to win/ who I voted for.

    I believe the real wild card here is voter turnout. If the GOP turnout is way up, it will impact almost every major race in both primaries. Based on my polling place in Pontotoc county (anecdotal, I know) I don’t believe GOP turnout will be up as much as it could be. In a county that normally votes heavily GOP in the General state election & federal elections, I was the 40th vote at my precinct, but only the 2nd to vote in the Republican primary.

    So, with those qualifications:

    GOVERNOR –
    Republican Bryant w/o runoff)
    (The only real question is will he crack 60%)
    Democrat – Dupree
    If the primary turnouts between the parties still tilt heavily Democrat, this will be close; but if the GOP primary increases by 50,000 votes or more, Dupree will win big

    LT GOV
    Reeves
    No clue on percentages. I think Hewes was closing the gap, but not quickly enough. And, I believe momentum swung back towards Reeves late last week

    ATT GEN
    Simpson & Hood
    (unfortunately)

    SEC of STATE
    Hoseman 70% plus

    TREASURER
    Smith leads ticket into runoff more handily than anyone expects
    Toss up between Yancey & Fitch for second.
    I prefer Yancey — and personally supported him — but he has not done much to distinguish himself as the best candidate for THIS position.
    So flip a coin on who faces Smith in run off

    The winner cruises over the Democrat whose name escapes me (& most everyone else) in Nov

    *Treasurer is the race I’m least confident about/ the hardest to call. A case could be made for a Finch/ Yancey run off

    AG COM
    The race that is dearest to my heart (other than the Personhood vote in Nov)
    Phillips right around 50%
    Hyde-Smith around 40%
    Reed 10% or less
    I personally hope Max can win w/o runoff, but if Reed cracks 10% then there will definitely be a run off & Phillips could be in trouble

    What the GOP primary turnout is and where the influx of new voters come from could have a huge impact on this race & could change the outcome drastically

  8. RiletDad Says:

    Couple more:

    Northern District PSC
    Adams wins Republican primary — which is disappointing, because I personally believe Cox is by far the more principled conservative.

    Brandon Presley beats Adams in Nov. If a Dupree candidacy leads to large black voter turnout Presley’s victory will be a walk

    Early General election predictions
    Republican sweep statewide except AG again
    Northern Dist PSC remains Democrat & Trans Commissioner flips back w/ Minor upsetting Taggart

    All three initiatives pass, but Personhood & Emminent Domain are closer than expected
    * IF the opposition spends millions on ads, either of these could shockingly lose

  9. RileyDad Says:

    RileyDad not RileyDat!
    What I get for commenting on my phone :;-)

  10. John Killian Says:

    Well, I was right on Treasurer. Lost my pick on Agriculture, but I just could not bring myself to predict a Max Phillips loss, as I wanted so badly for him to win

  11. RiletDad Says:

    Surprised by a couple. Disappointed by others.

    Shocked & disappointed w/ the Ag Com

  12. iFarm2 Says:

    Farm Bureau and Lester won Ag last night. Sad, sad.


Leave a Reply

